Forbidden Rice and Greens; Soba Rolls and Unagi; Stewed Pork, Eggplant, and Okra; Roasted Curried Kabocha and Cauliflower (June 25, 2017)

This week was busy and I traveled to share meals with friends yesterday which is always rejuvenating.  Thus as I walked through the grocery store today, I put together this meal with self-sustenance in mind.  My principles appear to hold steady: a variety of cooking methods with a mix of color.  Thus this week is something fresh, something stewed, something roasted, and rice plus something.  The colors are also: green, purple, white, orange, black.

img_2379

Forbidden rice with mustard greens and pickled daikon

  1. Cook the forbidden rice first (it tends to color everything purple or black)
  2. Mix in the greens
  3. Top with the pickled daikon

 

 

I also topped the rice with the excess unagi since it did not fit in the other container.

img_2386
img_2382

Soba rolls with daikon and avocado; Unagi

  1. Cook soba, cool, and pat dry
  2. Cut daikon into match sticks
  3. Cut avocado
  4. Roll in nori
  5. Slice into rolls
  6. Add unagi

 

 

A little different not using rice.  Extra soba can be save as long as you coat in oil (sesame).

img_2387

img_2380

Roasted curried kabocha and cauliflower

  1. Chop into chunks both
  2. Toss in oil and Madras curry powder
  3. Bake in oven (290 F for 60 min)

 

 

 

 

The curry mixes with the sweetness of the kabocha and the brightens the cauliflower.

img_2384

img_2381

Stewed pork with eggplant and okra

  1. Create stock with dried shiitake and kombu (seaweed), add mirin and soy to taste
  2. Simmer pork, then add eggplant
  3. Remove kombu and slice, return to stew
  4. Add okra last

 

 

The stew is surprisingly light despite the fatty pork.

img_2385

And here’s my lunch for the week:

img_2383.jpg

Ingredient and preparation notes:

  1. Forbidden or black rice can easily be purchased on amazon.com
  2. I bought my daikon already pickled and the mustard greens already cooked – helps me stay in my 90 minutes cooking and cleaning timeframe
  3. Soba cooks relatively quickly so monitor by trying individual noodles (must be al dente).  Stop the cooking process by placing in ice water.
  4. I bought the unagi cooked and frozen – I just don’t have the charcoal and time to roast my own.
  5. Get ready to re-sharpen your knife when taking apart the kabocha

Oh, and for my afternoon snack, I bought myself little Taiyaki (fish shaped cakes filled with red bean paste).

Enjoy!

Bento Doctor

Leave a Reply

